Phoenix Mountains

   Even many Phoenicians don't know that the mountain range which divides the city into northern and southern parts has a name.  Shaw Butte, North Mountain, Squaw Peak, Mummy Mountain, and Camelback Mountain are all peaks within the Phoenix Mountains.
   It is a typical Basin and Range type mountain range, with steeply dipping faults (now probably non-active) on each side.  If one could take away the valley fill material on each side, the mountains would appear to be thousands of feet higher.  What we see now are analogous to the tips of icebergs, sticking up out of ocean water.  The bulk of these jagged peaks is below the flat valley floors.


   If this window appears as a full-size, rather empty looking web page, either you do not have scripting and "pop-ups" enabled in your web browser, or you have found it only by way of a search function. 
   In the former case, you can return to the main website by using your "Back" button, or by accessing our Home Page at
   In the latter case, you will have to access our website's Home Page by going to

   If this window appears as a "pop-up", simply close this window to return to where you were.

Below are